my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2006-04-03
the calling of august

I was hit with such a longing for Michigan yesterday, it was almost painful in its intensity.

I took the Divine to the Medieval Fair. It's a huge get up with hundreds of tents set out on the grassy field in the biggest park in the area. In the tents are mostly vendors and and hundreds of people dressed up in Medieval attire. I could try to go into more detail about the Fair itself, but I'd likely not do it justice. The Divine rode an elephant, a camel, a donkey and then this very primitive swing ride that I'd never adequately describe (just for kids) that was great!! Of course, we had fair food and she got her face painted quite elaborately. Every single thing and person has a medieval theme.

Anyway, I was surrounded by tents on this grassy, dirt field, with hundreds of hot, sweaty people (not in an odorous way) and I could take deep breaths and SWEAR that I was in the crafts area at Michigan. At one point, in one area, I was inhaling deeply over and over - I probably looked like someone doing yoga standing straight up. And then, the zenith of the afternoon, I went to one section and heard it ... drumming. I turned a corner and there they were - beautiful, marvelous drums for sale and several people drumming over to the side. Someone gave me a very elementary lesson on drumming and I was in heaven.

I stood near that tent for so long, breathing in the smells, soaking up the atmosphere, listening to the drums - I was filled, for just a moment, with such a sense of peace. I know no-one could ever understand that if they had not been to Michigan but it really was amazing. For a little while yesterday, with the expectation of August washing over me, all seemed right with the world.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: coffee

hearing: an airplane

thinking about: august

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump