my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2005-12-15
borrowing trouble

The Divine had her Christmas program last night. She was so sweet and cute. She looked a little nervous/overwhelmed up there in front of all the people, which made her appear very vulnerable to me. A trait that I can assure you I haven't associated with the Divine in quite a while.

At the beginning, the school official said some words formally starting the program and among those were that this was the Christmas program, not a holiday program or a seasonal celebration but a Christmas program. There were several people that clapped, etc. at that announcement. I'm alright with it b/c this is a Christian private school - however, in the secular world, I have to say that the stronger my faith becomes, the more I support the consitutional principle of a separation of church and state. The thought of George Bush dictating my religious beliefs to me makes me shudder - and want to become Canadian.

My previous firm approached me recently about coming back in a brief writing position. They told me to let them know what I would want in salary that would be enough for me to leave my present firm. I explained to her that I would have to make enough to cover insurance costs since they don't offer benefits (and she knew that was the primary reason that I left before). So, I gave them a number, which represented what I make now plus a monthly insurance premium. She then asked me if there was any room for negotiation. I wasn't terribly pleased with that since she knows that I loathe being in a position of negotiating my salary. I explained to her in a response e-mail that there really wasn't any room for negotiation but that I wasn't trying to be greedy or obstinate, that the number that I had given her was what I make now plus insurance benefits - minus the latter, it was actually less than $100 per month more take home. I then explained that I truly appreciated that they had considered me for a position and that I hoped they would keep me in mind in the future. Apparently, she's somehow offended by this.

I don't understand, short of taking a cut in pay to go to her firm, what was I supposed to do? She never responded with what I would consider common courtesy of something along the lines of "I understand ... sorry it didn't work out ... blah, blah, blah" But I didn't worry too much about that and the next day I referred a case to her - which is a big deal, mind you - and I sent her an e-mail, as I have done two times in the past, explaining what I knew about the referral and that I told them to ask for her directly and their name. Anytime I've done that in the past, I've received responses of thanks and chit chat - I got instead "Thank you." I know her, having worked for her, and I know that she takes things personally that have little to nothing to do with her. I don't know what I was supposed to do other than take a cut. I explained to her why and if she can't understand that, then she just can't understand that. It really irritates me, hurts my feelings, etc.

I know they don't like to pay their associates very much money - yet, they just built a monstrosity of a house and want to hire the same people to build a new office building - and I know that it's their firm and their business how they run it and what expenditures they make, and that's as it should be. At the same time, they have to understand that if they are not willing to spend money on their associates, then they aren't going to hold on to many people for long. It's the reason that their primary associate is leaving at the end of the year. People can't just stay forever, even though they're not making any money. I just don't understand that.

Then my boss, who is Jewish, wants to not give end of the year bonuses until the end of the year - as in after Christmas. He told me that was b/c he didn't want people blowing their money on Christmas presents - I told hinm that actually that was none of his business. I will be devestated if I don't get my bonus until after Christmas. The bonus will be minimal, I realize, but I'd like to spend a whole $70 on my daughter this year at Christmas, Santa included, and I'd like to be able to actually do that pre-Christmas, rather than somehow delaying that celebration until Dec. 31st.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: coffee

hearing: a secretary talking down the hall

thinking about: unnecessary anxiety

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump