my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2005-09-21
professonial worth

Well, here's something, but let's start at the beginning. Last year at this time, I was making almost but not quite twice what I make now. For three months following the loss of my job, I was making far less than half of what I had been making. Then for three more months, I was making almost exactly half and now I make a little more than half. As you can imagine, during the last year, I fell more than a little behind on my bills and my credit is completely shot. This past month I received a bonus, which allowed me to finish getting caught up on ALMOST everything - there are a couple of businesses still awaiting payment from me but not many. HOwever, one of them happens to be the company through which I received my Bar loan - before you point it out, yes, I see the irony. I owe them $1000.00 and now they are going to sue me. They gave me a "courtesy" call yesterday and after making me feel like the biggest loser in America, including the President, they told me that they would sue and then garnish b/c as they told me at the very beginning of the call, Oklahoma has very liberal garnishment laws. YOu'd know the ONE thing liberal in this state would be the ability of companies to take your wages arbitrarily.

She also told me that owing $92K in student loans was not a large amount relatively speaking. Relative to what, you ask? I haven't the slightest fucking idea - Here, $92K will buy a nice house. It hasn't bought me anything, unfortunately, except a life riddled with debt.

Anyway, she got very mad at me for being unreasonable. I didn't really understand - I couldn't make money appear in my hands to send her - I suppose then that not being able to make money magically appear at will is tantamount to unreasonable behavior. Apparently I've been downright belligerent then my entire life.

She said some really awful things to me about how unsuccessful I must be as an attorney and how ridiculous it was that I couldn't pay this and every other bill. That my salary with one dependent was at least twice the national average - when I explained that halfing my salary and adding a dependent puts you below the poverty level, she went back to how, since I am in a career in which salaries are generally high, I clearly haven't been successful. Really, I have a hard enough time at work, I didn't need this added to it. Yes, I'm a failure professionally (probably personally too but we'll leave that for another day) - this isn't news to me but having someone else tell me that while I'm in the middle of doing the exact thing in which I am a failure was a little much.

Anyway, looks like Chapter 13 is my only option. So, I'll still pay everything I owe and that makes me feel a little bit better, I guess, it will just be in a slower fashion than what this company would prefer.

I understand that people have to do their jobs, really, I do. But I just can't excuse her behavior based on that. I think there is a special place in hell for her, and I hope whatever leads to her demise beforehand is slow and painful.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: water

hearing: interstate traffic

thinking about: dieing

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump