my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2005-04-11
just go with it

Okay, so I finally did it and began to tell Martha (the therapist) about how I live in my head. The fantasies I create and play out almost constantly, I'm assuming in order to avoid reality - the irony of course being that while the escape is fulfilling, it makes my reality even less tolerable. And practically speaking, I look around and think that my reality really isn't THAT bad - okay, financially, it's pretty dismal, but it's not as if I'm homeless. Yes, creditors are calling repeatedly but still, there are far worse situations, right?

Anyway, I never lose touch with reality in this whole living a separate life in my head thing - but I don't know. It does make reality horrible, which I suppose is part of why it is so addictive. But I often feel as if I am living outside of my life - I think it was Carrie Fisher or someone that wrote a line about how they were watching their life but they couldn't feel it - which is often true for me except that there are these moments that I do feel it, and I'm suddenly and immediately overwhelmed with the most stifling depressive feeling, that horrible finality of awareness that there is no escape. And somehow, I can cut that off most of the time and disassociate - either by slipping back into my head or merely by stepping back into the role of observer.

I suppose there is always the possibility that if I just stayed in the game for a while, I could get past the lack of escape trauma and feel my life in a manner that was not so overwhelming. But I'm not confident of that and I'm not sure it's worth the risk.

And the most confusing part is, I don't really want to stop living in my head. I don't want to stop the addictive nature of it - I prefer it, I enjoy it. The only thing that concerns me about it is that I might look back 10 years from now and feel that I missed out by not living my life - that I missed the important things b/c I was secluded into my own mind in a world of my own creation that, while satisfying in the here and now, doesn't leave you with anything tangible.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: coffe

hearing: jana's muted conversation through my closed door

thinking about: checking out

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump