my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2005-01-10
It's that time again

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Well, I quit my job without having secured another first, took the Divine to her first Fest, and rode a mechanical bull.

2. Did you keep your New Year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn't keep the one I made last year but I'm still pondering the possibility of making the same one again.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Oh, yeah ... one of my closest friends and her husband had twin baby girls. ;-)

4. Did anyone close to you die? Personally?

Yes.

5. What countries did you visit?

Sadly, I didn't leave the continent - even more sadly, this is the same answer as last year.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Well, I'd like to have more friends - actually, I guess I mean more acquaintances - I'm not looking for more confidantes but just more people to occasionally be social with on some level.

7. What date(s) from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Well, it's not a date specifically but OU/Texas weekend was pretty phenomenal.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting the divine potty trained

9. What was your biggest failure?

I think that my career situation must fit here somehow considering the massive cut in pay that i took when i changed jobs but ... i'm so much happier with this job that i just can't see it that way.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing major - although, i did have pneumonnia in september and swore i'd never felt that sick before.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Fest tickets.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

I think my Dad is doing an awesome job at raising my much younger brother and sister. my brother is in the midst of teenage hell and my sister is just entering and my dad has truly been a great parent, through it all.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My mother wins this award - hands down. So many things I can't begin to list them all. A theatrical suicide attempt in February, her refusal to tell me that my stepfather was so adamant that my being gay meant that i was a deviant and a terrible mother until i got totally blindsided by it in person, various emotional displays of instability, and culminating with her wrecking her car while highly intoxicated.

- Several members of my church came out against the pastor in a show that seemed anything but christian like or god centered and i was utterly and completely appalled at their unabashed self-absorbed behavior and attitude.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Rent and the divine's child care - same as last year.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Going to Fest, the birth of the twins, the OU/Texas trip, and taking the divine to Sea World fourth of July weekend - that trip was wonderful!!

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

Painting Pictures of Egypt

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Happier overall


ii. thinner or fatter? fatter


iii. richer or poorer? poorer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Walking, running - really, anything remotely active physically

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Complaining and being generally pessimistic at times

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent it with my family

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Nope

23. How many one-night stands?

WEll, one, sort of, I guess

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Desparate Housewives

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Yes

26. What was the best book you read?

That would have to be a tie between The DaVinci Code and The Life of Pi, probably the latter would win out

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Girlyman

28. What did you want and get?

A new job that I enjoy

29. What did you want and not get?

??? A new DVD/VCR player - the old one has a Barney video stuck in it

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

The Polar Express

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

32 years old... hmmm... i was unemployed and i don't think i did anything terribly spectacular but the divine and i made brownie batter and ate it like fools - it's a tradition.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

i think maybe finding a relationship but i'm not sure - i'm not really open to one, i don't think. i don't know.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

i really don't have one

34. What kept you sane?

My friends, my therapist and the anti-depressants probably don't hurt a thing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Well, that'd be . . . as always, Allison Janney. Although, Harrison Ford will always by my Johnny Depp.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

The Presidential election

37. Who did you miss?

chnacat

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Probably "her" - but that's just mostly b/c I can't think of anyone new that i met.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.

It would have to be something about how the world doesn't end b/c your life suddenly veers off in ways that you couldn't have imagined for yourself. That you can't just stop in place and wither b/c you've ended up somewhere unexpected - there is no set plan or agenda and life isn't bound to the one that you create in your own mind - and this is all a good thing.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

-Freedom's just another word for nothing left to lose ... Joni Mitchell

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: dp

hearing: people talking to the receptionist

thinking about: whether to put my other drink in the refrigerator

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump