my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2004-08-06
the more things change, the more they stay the same

I have so much to do before I leave for MICHIGAN . Tons of work to do and things to pack and the lists are endless but we're going to have so much fun. I hope the divine miss m likes it. CHNACAT has M&Ms awaiting her so I think it will all be fine ... Parenting 101 would surely nod their heads in disapproval but I've found real life often contradicts those parenting rules, or as in this case, makes them just seem unrealistic.

Anyway, I have thought seriously about doing one of those 100 things about me lists. I might do that this afternoon or perhaps this weekend. Knowing me though, each enumerated fact will turn into a novel - I'll concentrate on making each one germane but trivial, if that's possible.

Our flight leaves so early on Wednesday - but I'll be so excited that it will make it OK. I love that kind of thrilling anticipation that invigorates you. I can honestly say that five years ago, if someone told me a week long camping trip would fill me with that sensation, I'm sure I would have thought them completely mad!! Hah! And it's always several months after Fest that I don't step out of the shower thinking, if this were Michigan, I'd be ready now (except for the whole getting dressed thing - although lots of women go topless but I just don't have that in me. But I think it's cool that others do).

In talking to Beth yesterday, I realize how much Fest adds to your psyche, well, for me anyway. Her girlfriend has barely begun the whole coming out process and is really immersed in what people will think of her and while I've not gotten completely past that, believe me, I realize how much it helps me to be surrounded by 5000 womyn who, even if straight, find being a lesbian a characteristic to value, something on which to base a lot of your pride. That's how it became my Tara, in a lot of ways, although not limited to that b/c it also makes me value my individuality in ways I'm not sure that I can describe, and makes me like who I am all the more.

A wise person told me that your thirties are like another stage of adolescence in a way - that you come into the woman that you are in the same way that your teens often bring you into the girl that you are. I think that person was right and I think Fest adds to that tremendously.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping: coffee, nectar of the Gods

hearing: typing

thinking about: Fest

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump