my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2004-01-07
2003 in a glance

Mulher's New Year thingie:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Broke up with a girlfriend, drove to Fest in Michigan (rather than flying), and made an online friend that i'll probably never meet in person but adore anyway, aka mulher, and parented a two year old.

2. Did you keep your New Year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't think I made any - but this year I'm going to try very hard to be punctual or at least not ridiculously late to everything. (I haven't done well on this so far and it's only the 7th so that really doesn't bode well)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

A good friend of mine and her husband had her second little girl. ; )

4. Did anyone close to you die? Personally? Not someone real close to me, no.

5. What countries did you visit?

Sadly, I didn't leave the continent.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Well, money is the first thing that came to mind but that sounds so shallow . . . I would really like more motivation for my work and more patience in dealing with that vile woman who bore me and I'm pretty patient with the divine but I could always use more of that, I think.

7. What date(s) from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I can't really think of any in particular . . . I wonder if that's an indication that I didn't have a memorable year.

Well, December 11th was the divine's third eye surgery.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Parenting the divine has to fit here somehow - i've never tried harder at anything in my life as i try being a good mommy to her. i don't know if i achieved that this year per se and i'm not sure that it fits in the category of an 'achievement' but certainly being her mommy is the role in life that i enjoy the most and the job that gets the most of my effort.

also, i am completing an awesome bible study class and my boss changed my position from term to career but ...

9. What was your biggest failure?

But at year's end, my productivity at work is minimal and I'm terribly far behind.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing major - although, the divine had pneumonnia in january of 2003 and i felt like i suffered right through that with her, poor baby.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Probably the dollhouse the divine got from Santa Claus . . . Christmas magic. And my ticket to Fest

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Hmmm . . . my grandmother broke her hip in December and her spirits stayed up the whole time and she was amazingly optimistic through the whole thing. I'm unbelievably grateful for that.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My mother's continuous inability to be honest with herself and deal with reality along with the fury and all that it entails that she directs towards me at times - and my girlfriend's initial irrational behavior when we broke up.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Rent and the divine's child care.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

When I decided for sure to go to Fest.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

Icarus Wings

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Happier - not in a jubilant way but in a more contented way

ii. thinner or fatter? i think the same

iii. richer or poorer? poorer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Walking, running

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Complaining and being generally pessimistic at times

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With my family

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Nope

23. How many one-night stands?

None

24. What was your favorite TV program?

The West Wing

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I don't think so . . . unfortunately, I'm quite capable of hate but I don't think I added anyone to the list in the past year - although I did take one off so I suppose that's something.

26. What was the best book you read?

The Secret Life of Bees

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Norah Jones, Ellis, and Captain Tractor

28. What did you want and get?

DVD player and an entertainment center and the first season of the west wing on DVD

29. What did you want and not get?

an umbrella stroller

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Tough one... probably Finding Nemo - I can't actually think of anything else that I saw this year other than Love, Actually and it was cute and all but by no means my favorite of anything.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

31 years old... hmmm... the chambers took me out to eat sushi, even though the judge hates it, and i took the divine to gymnastics and then we went home and ate brownie batter - i really don't remember if we actually cooked any.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

My mother becoming a different person . . . or at least, more able to communicate in some healthy form and my friends accepting me as gay . . . and getting the divine potty trained would have been huge but . . . didn't happen.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

I went from not wanting to care, to not caring and wanting to and now I'm back to caring and kind of trying. OH, and I'm not sure where this fits but it seems noteworthy - I got my haircut short and really different for me - even more surprising is that I like it.

34. What kept you sane?

My friends, my therapist, bible study class, and parental responsibilities that inherently preclude slipping into bouts of depression (most of the time).

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Well, that'd be . . . as always, Allison Janney.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

The mess in Iraq and pretty much anything Dubya said or did. Moron.

37. Who did you miss?

Michigan and chnacat

38. Who was the best new person you met?

The lesbian couple in my bible study class - they aren't so melded that they can't be distinguished, I just really like both of them so they fit here.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.

Parenting a two year old has taught me the REAL meaning of choosing your battles and I'm much more aware of those things that are really important to me in life.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Well this is the whole song, but it's perfect:

It's the last night of your perfect, forgettable year,

In the half light,

You're certain the ending is clear.

It's been eating you away,

It's so good to hear you say,

Good-bye calendar,

Hello New Year's Day.

But your words just die in the fireworks' din,

And the passion subsides as the panic pours in,

And you try to fly but your Icarus Wings,

Melt into nothing when you stop believing

You were always so wrong

You got lost in the hallways

of the always so wrong.

Never let them

Realize that you think they're absurd.

Just forget them

And the dreams they destroy with a word.

You had to get away

You had nothing left to say, except

Good-bye scarlet town

Hello new world gray

But the past it pulls on your taut puppet strings

And you're stuck in an opera where nobody sings

And you try to fly but your Icarus Wings

Melt into nothing when you stop believing

You were always so wrong . . .

But the words just came my way

That you're leaving here today

Good-bye wanderer

Hello camera fade

Cause the world pulls you so hard it stings

You've just got to know what the summer brings

You'll try to fly but your Icarus Wings

Will fail you like so many things

You were always so wrong

You got lost in the hallways

of the always so wrong

The always so wrong . . .

-It applies to some specific areas, so there's not a negative slant to my entire year.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping:

hearing:

thinking about:

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump