my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2003-11-25
the way it should be

"I am not yet so lost in lexicography, as to forget that words are the daughters of earth, and that things are the sons of heaven. Language is only the instrument of science, and words are but the signs of ideas: I wish, however, that the instrument might be less apt to decay, and that signs might be permanent, like the things which they denote." Samuel Johnson

I've been thinking about words lately, thinking about them in the same way I used to think about clouds, or smoke. It's my job to think of them, in them.

Yesterday my father told me that the fact that a person's employment could be terminated because they were gay was, quite simply, the "way it should be." So, now I'm thinking about words ... and although I excel at MY employment because I have an ability to manipulate words into an acceptable, if not pleasing, justification - I can't spin those. I can't manipulate his thoughts and it occurs to me that I only ever mold the end result, I never change the preceeding facts or the arguments, just like I can't change the feelings preceeding those words.

I'm bored by clouds, skies and sunsets now. I ponder over tense, comma, and wordplay. "the way it should be" and I'm not allowed to diminish the power of words in my head, in my heart, in my hand ... their insignificance would diminish me. and so, I've begun to think about words.

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping:

hearing:

thinking about:

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump