my spoon is too big
what it is
what it was
sign my guestbookie
design
host
i like food!

nothing chunky or piecey

sushi

brownie batter

did i mention no chunks of anything

ice cream

peanut butter hot fudge sundaes

i live in a giant bucket

i am ainslee's mom

i love:
music

college football

allison janney

felicity huffman

and anything written by aaron sorkin rocks.

i hate:
hypocrisy

and most republicans,

although i realize that might be redundant.

i want to live every day like my last, not in a state of fear but of appreciation but i haven't mastered that yet."

go visit my peeps

chnacat


2003-05-22
a difficult survey

Shamelessly stole this from chnacat who shamelessly stole it from mulher

15 years ago I...

-- was 15 and a sophomore in high school

-- wanted to date M.A., a ridiculous idea that never faded throughout high school

-- was approaching the all time WORST summer of my life that would culminate with me living with my dad.

-- tolerating my mom's latest loser boyfriend and this one would later become loser stepdad for a while

-- had my first SERIOUS crush on a girl, but didn't recognize it

10 years ago I...

-- was living in a one room efficiency in Durant, Oklahoma, and back in school full time, trying to pick a major and beginning to toy with the idea of going to law school

-- was working two part time jobs while doing the full time school thing

-- frustrated by the fact that i didn't want to 'date' guys, i wanted to hang out with friends, who unfortunately wanted to date guys . . . which ties in with -

-- "Still dated men and had no inkling about my sexuality�-- this was mulher's

answer but ditto which leads too . . .

-- was so in love with laura i couldn't see straight, but too dense to figure it all out at that point - and this had already gotten me into horrendous situations

5 years ago I...

-- Had my own apartment in Norman, Oklahoma

-- Was finishing up second year of law school - and kicked ass that year on grades - and had just been elected to the Student Bar Association

-- Was dating a guy who I would later almost marry (thank god for small miracles - and he would say the same - in fact, he basically has said that).

-- was about to start a summer internship with a solo practitioner right before I landed a job with a firm in OKC.

-- had spent the previous summer studying at oxford, where i consumed way too much alcohol in the beer cellar at the bottom of queen's college while probably not learning nearly enough, and backpacked around Europe where I learned I hated France and loved everything Italy.

2 years ago I...

-- had just had a baby, the divine miss m, in January

-- was learning the difficulties of juggling single motherhood with a law career, especially while working for a mad beast

-- was trying to support my friends, J & P, through the in-vitro process and at this time, was waiting to find out if they 'took,' so to speak (and btw, they did and J & P are now the proud parents of the cutest twins ever!!)

-- was trying to define my relatioship with said boy from law school who i had reconciled with

-- loving every single minute of being a new mommy - some things don't change

1 year ago I...

-- had just landed a job as a staff attorney for a federal judge

-- was finally ending the always faltering relationship with said boy

-- Was about to come out to my 3 closest friends, mother, and grandmother - and would soon learn that my friends are gold and my mother has serious limitations

-- discovered the michigan womyn's music festival, decided to go and met my friend, chnacat

-- was being a mom, the best part of life

Yesterday I...

-- screwed up dinner and had to take the divine and myself out to eat

-- didn't get enough work done

-- continued dealing with the fallout of an extremely messy break up with beth

--snuggled with the divine on the couch and watched winnie the pooh

Today I...

-- wondered if beth might be on her way here and decided that that would be extreme even for her

-- played 'round about' with the divine on the way into her school building

-- pondered whether i'll go to fest this year

-- did barely a stitch of work (hence the ability to fill this out) - another plagiarism but ditto

Tomorrow I will...

--take a half-day off and head to my best friends home in the southeastern part of the state where we will take the kids to the aquariam and she will make me feel whole again

Five items I have brand loyalty to...

--Dr. Pepper

--Bath and Body Works Sun Ripened Raspberry body cream

--Crest toothpaste

--Windex

--Goldfish

Five snacks I enjoy...

--Movie Theatre popcorn

--Honey Roasted Peanuts

--Oreo's - any kind except Mint

--M&M's

--Goldfish

Five songs I know all the words to, even without the music....

--Sittin on the Dock of the Bay

--Heffalumps and Woozles (Winnie the Pooh song) - hey, I have a two year old

--Wasted Time by the Eagles

--Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley (all time favorite song)

--Independent Love Song on the Bed of Roses soundtrack

Five games I like...

--Trivial Pursuit

--Taboo

--Pictionary

--Monopoly

--Jeopardy

Five albums that changed my life...

--Journey - Escape

--GREASE soundtrack

--Madonna's Like a Virgin - I was the right age

--Phantom of the Opera soundtrack

--Kris Delmhorst's Five Stories (again, a timing thing)

Five things I can't live without...

--My daughter

--Scalding hot showers

--Sunshine

--Intellectual wit

--Books and CDs

Five things I would buy with a $1000...

--the swing set for the divine that i've been dieing to buy her but can't afford

--and i would hire someone to finish the decorating in her bedroom

My guilty pleasures...

--reading fan fiction

--constant fantasies about allison janney

--im'ing with chnacat when i should be working

--frequent purchases of vanilla dr. pepper's from sonic

--eating more of the brownie batter with the divine than we actually cook

Top five musicians lately (or who's in the CD player right now?)

--Patti Griffin

--Liz Story

--Jeff Buckley (that's a constant)

--Captain Tractor

--and actually, I think Indigo Girls' Retrospective, Catie Curtis and Kris Delmhorst are in the CD player right now

Top five locations I'd like to run away to...

--Venice - definitely Venice

--my great-grandmother's house when I was growing up - naps on the bed in the back bedroom with the windows open and her sitting in the chair near the bed - i've never known anywhere else that peaceful and/or where i felt that safe, and i doubt that i ever will

--My best friend's house

--A little village outside of Dublin, in the valley of two mountains where you can hike to the upper and lower lake and see monastic ruins from the 6th century; it has beautiful natural waterfalls throughout the mountainside - i can't remember the name

--strangely enough, New York

Name five bad habits I have...

--Procrastination!!!

--Feeling responsible for other people's feelings or situations

--General cleaning of the bathroom

--self-deprication

--overly concerned with what other people think

Name five things I would never wear...

--fatigues/army boots - i don't care for that look

--really big bell-bottoms

--tight jeans

--polka dots

--argyle socks

Name TV shows you like...

--The West Wing

<< & >>

tiny hats

sipping:

hearing:

thinking about:

i am a banana.

Know, Don't Know, Wish Others Knew

Mercy as a Default

Quiet Desperation

GRRRRRR!!!!

Help if you can


everything�s gonna be ok!

"Sometimes there just aren't enough rocks ... "
-forrest gump